InTheCapital: Short, Helpful, and Friendly Content

InTheCapital homepage 2/9

Today, I checked out InTheCapital‘s “frontpage” stories, to take a look at the type of content and the layouts that the website features. The site’s four top-featured stories alone are a great example of the variety of written formats that InTheCapital uses – with great success, in my opinion.

First up was a Valentine’s Day gift guide, in the form of a numbered list, replete with hyperlinks to other InTheCapital articles. I liked that the hyperlinks didn’t pull you off the site, but instead just redirected you to other InTheCapital content that you perhaps wouldn’t have seen otherwise. The gift list wasn’t too long, and basically served as a middleman for helping you access other InTheCapital articles.

Next up: a very short (four tiny paragraphs!) review of a Sunday brunch restaurant. As short as it was, I appreciated that the article was concise and gave you all the information you needed to know – basic menu options, price range, and atmosphere.

The third article I took a look at was considerably longer than the first two – a six graph article titled “Federal Workers Beware: Tweeting On Agency Time Is Against The Law.”  

tweeting article

The headline itself was enough to pique my interest, but upon reading the story, I found it only pertained to tweeting about partisan politics while at work, not just about tweeting in general. But while I found the headline slightly misleading, the story itself was interesting and informative. This was one of the longer InTheCapital articles that I read.

Finally, the last article I took a look at was a compilation of links to other top stories. These articles ranged from the attempted hijacking of a plane headed to Sochi, Russia, to news that the DC Metro is reportedly opening up a Silver Line.

Links 2/9

What was especially interesting to me was that many of the links took readers away from InTheCapital to other news outlets. I think this practice is especially indicative of the sharing culture of the Web. InTheCapital is promoting this environment, while remaining confident that its readers will return.

I can tell that InTheCapital strives to keep the audience interested. They avoid long, heavier stories that online readers might be quick to click out of, and instead provide fun, lighter, and informative short pieces that a younger, online-savvy generation will respond well to.

Not only that, but InTheCapital cultivates a culture of sharing information from other online sources, as well as promoting local DC businesses. It’s an enjoyable combination that I think will be a success as the online journalism industry continues to evolve.

8 comments

  1. Front pages are pretty important when it comes to a news site, so good call to review that. I like your analysis of their readers based on content and story length, although I personally am not a fan of the news-lite format that In the Capital seems to promote.

  2. You did a great job analyzing the purpose of each part of the home page (length, links, etc.). The only thing that I would suggest is possibly one or two more pictures to break up your paragraphs! Nice work!

  3. I thought it was interesting pointing out that the InTheCapital hyperlinks don’t redirect you to other sites but to more of their own content. I would like to know more about how you think InTheCapital keeps readers interested in their work in addition to your own opinion. I like the way you map out different posts and go into more of an in-depth explanation.

  4. Thank you for introducing me to InTheCapital it was not something I was aware of. Nice visuals although I am not sure if you are legally allowed to use these images, they seem to be screen shots but I don’t know if there is a problem using the images within the screenshot. Really something I know nothing about but just something to think about when using pictures.

  5. Olivia,

    Love that you included so many hyperlinks in your blog post. Also love the last part of your piece:

    “What was especially interesting to me was that many of the links took readers away from InTheCapital to other news outlets. I think this practice is especially indicative of the sharing culture of the Web. InTheCapital is promoting this environment, while remaining confident that its readers will return.

    I can tell that InTheCapital strives to keep the audience interested. They avoid long, heavier stories that online readers might be quick to click out of, and instead provide fun, lighter, and informative short pieces that a younger, online-savvy generation will respond well to.

    Not only that, but InTheCapital cultivates a culture of sharing information from other online sources, as well as promoting local DC businesses. It’s an enjoyable combination that I think will be a success as the online journalism industry continues to evolve.”

    I think you provided great insight and really tried to apply your observations in a broader sense.

    Jenna

  6. I like the way you included a lot of hyperlinks in your discussion of their content layout. Maybe for your next one you could talk about the media use in their content and say how they could be more interactive.

  7. Great use of hyperlinks!

    One suggestion I have is to maybe be a little bit more precise with the cropping of your photos. The first photo has a sliver on the right side of whatever image was on the home page at the time you took the screenshot and only gives us a glimpse of the “Featured Events,” while the second photo cuts off the search box. Though that part of the webpage isn’t important to what you’re discussing, it looks a little off (almost like there might be something the reader can’t see). The third is perfect, a clear and clean snapshot.

Leave a Reply

